Tags

, , , , ,

Eddie Brock the VenomWho’s Spider-Man’s most feared foe? Venom, for sure. It’s a name that conjures up images of a murderous, hulking creature garbed in a twisted black spider man costume.

I always read how people miss Eddie Brock as Venom, and he is the one true Venom and all that. And I will admit, I love Eddie as Venom. But only as a villain. He was the antithesis of Peter Parker. What he could have become. His Lethal Protector run was good, as was Separation Anxiety, but the more I re-read it I found myself comparing him to a super-powered Punisher. Not really a heroic icon. I also found Eddie’s psychotic nature led him to be a better tragic villain. He murders, but he murders bad guys. However, murder is murder and he ought to be stopped. That sort of thing. He just also seemed one-dimensional as a character, something writers had limited him to because of his insanity.